Friday, February 19, 2010

new year. new me. [in need of a new body part deux]

As some of you read on January 14th I was contemplating trying Quicktrim to help with my weight loss.

After much questioning and contemplating I decided not to do it.
1. It was very strict and confusing
2. It was pretty expensive
3. I decided I just needed to exercise & eat better

So that is exactly what I did.

I spent 2 weeks on a super diet. No bread, low carb, no sugar, no starbucks, no soda...you get the idea.

I basically ate veggies & grilled chicken and would snack on a 1/2 an apple if I wanted something sweet.

I then started going to the gym 3-4 times a week. Along with the gym I have been going hiking with my good little gay and getting some good exercise outside.

After 4 weeks I have lost 11 1/2 lbs and down a pant size.

My long term goal is to lose 25 lbs by my birthday [May 9th just incase you don't know. Which is 79 days away...].

As a single gal going to a wedding on April 30th I want to make sure I look good. Unfortunately it is rumored that there is only ONE bachelor who will be there...so we will see how that goes.

I figured I am either going to fit in my dress better. Or it will eventually be too big and I will have to buy a new one. That's win-win either way!

I just thought I would follow-up with yall & let you know how I am doing.

I am sore as S**T today after running Runyon for the 2nd time this week. I am taking a break over the weekend and will be back at it Monday morning. :)

my new favorite place in LA.


In a city that is so big it is easy to get lost sometimes. There are so many things to see, do, and take in, one never knows where to start.

However, recently, I found a place that lets me get lost in myself. Runyon Canyon is one of my new favorite places in the city.

Just north of Hollywood & Highland there is a 160 acre park to hike, run, and over look the city with breathtaking views [on a clear LA day of course].

Runyon is also a dog park which has made me develop a new love for dogs. I have made many new friends over the last few weeks. I can't help but love all of them.

Most important of all, it is a place that reminds me of home. Not Yuba City, but Woodleaf. I know I am not deep in the forest by any means but it is one of the closest things I have.

There are many birds that I just sit and watch, or sit and listen, and the sights and sounds make me smile.

Today, while finishing my hike I found a little patch of Madrone. The trees made me smile and think of Kathe Condor, 4th graders, bark beetles and Manzanita. Once my mind trailed to Manzanita I thought of Wednesday night and the bug skit.

I am glad Runyon has given me a place to think of all of these moments and provided me place that truly feels like home.

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

dear fellow bloggers.

Since I am relatively still new at this blogging business I need some advice/assistance.

How do you get people to follow your blog?!

I appreciate those of you who follow me. But I only have 10. One is my mom. And another is my gay that I yelled at until he figured out how to follow me.

What do I do???

HELP!

video killed the radio star?

Because I LOVE Tyler Oakley, I thought I should VBLog.
So here is my first stab at things...hopefully they'll get better.

Let me know what you think!

Monday, February 15, 2010

project runway attempts to keep a secret.

This season I have been very good at keeping up with my PR episodes.

However, I do not think there are 10 designers that are really...THAT good.

Today while wasting time browsing Perez I came across this article.

emProject Runway/em's Never Ending Finale

What do you think? Is this necessary?

every girl has a carrie moment.

All girls love Sex & The City and we strive to have moments like the characters throughout our entire life [or at least the outfits.].

Unfortunately for this model, her moment was like when Carrie fell on the runway.





Just my thought for the day.

Enjoy.

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

dazzle softly.

While I was at a bar with my friends last weekend we were talking fashion [duh, that's just what we do]. You wouldn't think that was the topic considering the hole in the wall type of place we were in, but if you saw our wardrobe compared to anyone else you would understand.

[note: I was in a white, black, and gray leopard cardigan then over the knee gray boots. loves it.]

While talking about clothes one of my friends brought up Shoe Dazzle.

Shoe Dazzle? I had never heard of such a thing.

She continues to tell me it is a website that Kim Kardashian has. SOLD! That's all I needed to hear.

In my loud drunk voice I immediately yelled, "I love the Kardashians. And I love Kim, I mean, look at my hair!"

So while surfing the internet today I remembered our conversation. So I went to the website [shoedazzle.com].



It is a monthly website that charges you $39 a month. The first week of the month they pick out 5 shoes for you from their 'stylists.' You then choose which shoe you want and for free shipping and handling, THEY'RE YOURS!



When you register for the site there are approximately 25 questions. You choose out of models which outfits you like better, then out of brands which you like better, celebrities, shoe styles, shoe colors, etc.

My personal picks were: D&G, LAMB, Smashbox Makeup, Urban Outfitters, Gwen Stefani, Jennifer Aniston, Victoria Beckham, Reese Witherspoon.

Once you have the 5 options you pick the one you want. If you do not want any of the shoes they pick for you you can do two things: 1) you can skip a month and you will not get the $39 charge 2) you can choose a pair from their showroom instead.

If you do not like the shoes you can exchange them for no charge, or return them for a $5.95 restocking fee.

This sounds like a FANTASTIC website! I'm ready to get dazzled. How about you?

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

i think i died and went to heaven!

Hello my little bloggers. I know it has been a while since I have been on here, please accept my apologies. A lot has been going on in my life, especially in my personal life.

HOWEVER.

The greatest thing happened to me today. Well, I woke up late today and missed my spin class, but that's besides the point. When I woke up I checked my phone [which is what I do every time I wake up through the night...I'm a phone junkie] and I had a new BBM. For those of you not in blackberry world, it is a blackberry instant message. The message was from my friend Mark and read, "Have you seen the trenta?"

I thought maybe that was a typo because I had no idea what he was talking about. I wrote back and he told me that the trenta is starbucks new 30 oz drink!

WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?!


To your left is the Trenta next to the Venti starbucks former super drink.



Now let me tell you about my starbucks addiction. I can go to starbucks twice a day and be happy with life. This is probably why I am so fat, but at least I'm awake, happy, and fat.
Well, that's a lie, not neccesarily happy...I have been getting SFV lattes lately instead of carmel macchiattos. So I am making a step in the right direction.

But that is besides the point.

There are many times where Mark and I have delirious sessions of working in Red Robin's home office in Tustin. We DO have to go to starbucks twice just to make sure we keep our level of sanity.

However, now with the TRENTA we could possibly only have to go once!

I don't know if anyone can truly understand my level of excitement...but it is there!

Now the question is, how many shots are in it? If an iced venti has 3 does that mean the trenta has 4? And if there are 6 pumps of syrup in a venti are there 7 in the trenta? 7 PUMPS! Could you imagine how many calories are in 7 pumps of white mocha.

Okay, that's enough thinking of that because that will just make me sad and take away my excitement.

But for any of my fellow coffee addicts out there, this could be the greatest moment in your life as well! I hope you enjoy it!